The Lakshminarayana International Award was instituted in the year 1997 by the Lakshminarayana Global Music Festival. It is awarded to individuals who have made momentous contributions to their respective artistic domains. Each awardee is a legend in his/her own right.

The first award in 1997 was given to Lord Yehudi Menuhin, and was presented to him by the President of India His Excellency K.R. Narayanan. Subsequently, the award has been presented to eminent artists, creative geniuses and living legends.

The award carries with it a specially commissioned unique Tanjore painting of Lord Ganesha playing the violin (as a tribute to Professor V. Lakshminarayana). Lord Ganesha in the Hindu pantheon is the first God one prays to, in order to remove obstacles. Tanjore painting is a specialized art form from the Tanjore region of Tamil Nadu. This form of painting incorporates gold leaf work and semi-precious gems. Each painting is a specially commissioned work of art.

Winners of the Lakshminarayana International Award:

  • Pandit Ram Narayan
  • Purno Das Baul Samrat
  • Hubert Laws
  • Oystein Baadsvik
  • Lord Yehudi Menuhin
  • Smt. M.S. Subbulakshmi
  • Dr. Gangubai Hangal
  • Dr. Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer
  • Ustad Bismillah Khan
  • Pandit Bhimsen Joshi
  • Pandit V.G. Jog
  • Smt. D.K. Pattamma
  • Pandit Birju Maharaj
  • Ivry Gitlis
  • Pandit Jasraj
  • B.K.S.Iyengar
  • Dr. M. Balamuralikrishna
  • Al Jarreau
  • Arve Tellefsen
  • Jean Luc Ponty
  • George Duke
  • Stanley Clarke